September 22

Madison, Wis., 9/22/2014 - The Wisconsin Association of Health Plans Board voted September 19 to elect new Association leaders for the term October 1, 2014, through September 30, 2015. The vote on Association leaders was held during the Association's 2014 Annual Meeting in Madison, which celebrated the Association's 30th Anniversary.

The Association was incorporated on September 25, 1984.

The Association's Annual Meeting celebrated the contributions of its member health plans over the past 30 years--accomplishments that were lauded by five Wisconsin Governors. Association members were among the first to serve the State Employee Health Plan and enabled the state's Medicaid Managed Care Program to be successful statewide. Both programs helped the state improve health care quality, reduce costs and increase access to health care services, which has allowed Wisconsin to maintain one of the lowest uninsured rates in the nation. The community-based health plans of the Association also make the state's health insurance market competitive.

"The key to the Association's longevity and its many contributions to the state is the consistent engagement of member CEOs," said Sheila Jenkins, President of Network Health and President of the Association Board. "The top executives of each health plan are in the best position to understand the importance of maintaining a competitive health insurance market in Wisconsin. They are also the people at the table making decisions to support sound public policy."

"Members of the Association are unified in their support for the market and their local communities," said Nancy Wenzel, CEO of the Wisconsin Association of Health Plans. "They're the reason the last five Governors and countless lawmakers recognize this Association for what it is--a credible resource, an effective advocate, and a reliable partner of Wisconsin government."

The newly elected leaders of the Association for 2014 - 2015 are:

President - Sheila Jenkins, President, Network Health, Menasha

Vice President - Terry Bolz, President and CEO, Unity Health Plans Insurance Corporation, Sauk City

Secretary - Gary Lenth, MD, CEO and Medical Director, Gundersen Health Plan, La Crosse

Treasurer - Kevin Hayden, CEO, Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin, Madison

Past President - Pete Farrow, CEO, Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire, Eau Claire

The Association is the voice of 12 community-based health plans collectively applying their local experience and values in addressing state public policy issues. Association members helped transform the way the Medicaid population and state employees receive health care in Wisconsin and made Wisconsin's health insurance market one of the most competitive in the country.

Member Health Plans: Care Wisconsin Health Plan Dean Health Plan Group Health Cooperative of Eau Claire Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin Gundersen Health Plan Health Tradition Health Plan MercyCare Health Plans Network Health Physicians Plus Insurance Corporation Prevea360 Security Health Plan Unity Health Plans Insurance Corporation


Forgot my password

PDF files on this site require Adobe Reader.
Download a free copy